New look New Zealand Women's team for Shanghai

L-R: Chelsea Farley (Skip), Thivya Jeyaranjan (Third) Tessa Farley (Second) Waverley Taylor (Lead) Elizabeth Matthews (Alternate/Coach) Photo: NZCA

With several experienced players unavailable, the New Zealand selectors have announced a new-look national Women's team for November's Pacific-Asia Curling Championships in China.

Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Tessa Farley and Waverley Taylor will be coached by Liz Matthews, who will also fill the 5th player role if required. The Farley sisters and Jeyaranjan first played for the national open side two years ago, and this is a rapid rise for Taylor who was named for the Junior Women's team just a few weeks ago.

"We respect the wishes of some of our established athletes to take a break," said Darren Carson, convenor of the Selection panel, when the team was confirmed. "At the same time, we welcome the opportunity to give more experience to Chelsea, Thivya and Tessa, and to introduce Waverley to top-level competition."

"We know that with Liz Matthews coaching the side they'll be well prepared, and we're confident they will all represent their country with pride."

The Kiwis will take on Australia, China, Japan, Kazakhstan and Korea at the Pacific-Asia Championships in Shanghai on 11-19 November. The top gold and silver medalists will qualify their nations for the Ford World Women's Curling Championship 2014 in St John, New Brunswick, Canada.

The NZ Men's side of Peter de Boer, Sean Becker, Scott Becker, Kenny Thomson and Phil Dowling, with coach Peter Becker, will play in the Men's tournament in Shanghai. China (as hosts) and the top-ranked side will qualify for next year's World Men's Championship in Beijing.

Courtesy of the NZCA

Share this page

More Information

WCF Official Suppliers